5 Summer Books That I'm Freaking Out About

by - 1:31 PM

(Photo credit: Scott Evers Photography)

Hi everyone! So basically, I was going to try and do a list of books that are being released this summer that I can’t wait to read. But, I only have lists of what books come out this month and next month. I mean… I’m sure I could find more lists, but I’m too lazy for that, you know? So, I guess this post is more of books that come out later this month and in June that I’m way too stoked about! If you have any more recommendations, please let me know!!

1. Summer Days and Summer Nights

By multiple authors; Edited by Stephanie Perkins





Back of the book blurb:


Maybe it's the long, lazy days, or maybe it's the heat making everyone a little bit crazy. Whatever the reason, summer is the perfect time for love to bloom. Summer Days & Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories, written by twelve bestselling young adult writers and edited by the international bestselling author Stephanie Perkins, will have you dreaming of sunset strolls by the lake. So set out your beach chair and grab your sunglasses. You have twelve reasons this summer to soak up the sun and fall in love.
Featuring stories by Leigh Bardugo, Francesca Lia Block, Libba Bray, Cassandra Clare, Brandy Colbert, Tim Federle, Lev Grossman, Nina LaCour, Stephanie Perkins, Veronica Roth, Jon Skovron, and Jennifer E. Smith.

Release date: May 17, 2016


            The first time I heard about this book, it was on Stephanie Perkins’ Twitter. She said that North and Marigold’s story would continue in this novel and I legitimately freaked out because I thought we were going to get an entire novel-length story about North and Marigold. Then I realized it was another set of stories by twelve amazing authors and properly freaked out again because this time, they’re summer stories and I cannot be happier! I am so so so excited to read these.


2. Smut

By Karina Halle




Back of the book blurb:


What happens when the kink between the pages leads to heat between the sheets?
All Blake Crawford wants is to pass his creative writing course, get his university degree, and take over his dad’s ailing family business. What Amanda Newland wants is to graduate at the top of her class, as well as finally finish her novel and prove to her family that writing is a respectful career.
What Blake and Amanda don’t want is to be paired up with each other for their final project, but that’s exactly what they both get when they’re forced to collaborate on a writing piece. Since Amanda thinks Blake is a pushy asshole (with a panty-melting smirk and British accent) and Blake thinks Amanda has a stick up her ass (though it’s a brilliant ass), they fight tooth and nail until they discover they write well together. They also may find each other really attractive, but that’s neither here nor there.
When their writing project turns out to be a success, the two of them decide to start up a secret partnership using a pen name, infiltrating the self-publishing market in the lucrative genre of erotica. Naturally, with so much heat and passion between the pages, it’s not long before their dirty words become a dirty reality. Sure, they still fight a lot, but at least there’s make-up sex now.
But even as they start to fall hard for each other, will their burgeoning relationship survive if their scandalous secret is exposed? Or are happily-ever-afters just a work of fiction?

Release date: May 16, 2016


            Honestly, when I read Racing the Sun by Ms. Halle, I wasn’t too impressed. It was good—I loved the travel part of the novel and basically experiencing a new place vicariously through the lives of Karina Halle’s characters, but the romance didn’t have my heart racing. Either way, I’m more than willing to give Karina Halle a second chance because this book sounds absolutely incredible. Super excited to read this. I mean, isn’t it a dream come true to have someone you can write sex scenes with and then create real life sex scenes? Sounds perfect to me. And just steamy enough for a thrilling summer read on the beach.

There's actually no pre-order for this book... Whoops.

3. The Last Star

By Rick Yancey




Back of the book blurb:


The Last Star is the heart-stopping finale to the bestselling 5th Wave series by award-winning author, Rick Yancey. Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent and The Maze Runner.
'Wildly entertaining . . . I couldn't turn the pages fast enough' The New York Times
We’re here, then we’re gone, and that was true before they came. That’s always been true. The Others didn’t invent death; they just perfected it. Gave death a face to put back in our face, because they knew that was the only way to crush us. It won’t end on any continent or ocean, no mountain or plain, jungle or desert. It will end where it began, where it had been from the beginning, on the battlefield of the last beating human heart.
Master storyteller Rick Yancey invokes triumph, loss, and unrelenting action as the fate of the planet is decided in the conclusion to this epic series.

Release Date: May 24, 2016


            We all fell in love with The 5th Wave and we all were kind of pissed off while reading The Infinite Sea but we’re all in too deep to not read the last book in the 5th Wave trilogy. I mean, come on. I really enjoy Yancey’s writing and actually had to reread The 5th Wave this past semester for my YA Writing class. And let’s be real, I need more Evan. I just do. And what says summer more than an alien apocalypse? Just about everything… Okay forget I said anything about summer. I just want my own cute alien boyfriend. (I’m actually the worst, I’m sorry.)


4. Run

By Kody Keplinger




Back of the book blurb:


Bo Dickinson is a girl with a wild reputation, a deadbeat dad, and a mama who's not exactly sober most of the time. Everyone in town knows the Dickinsons are a bad lot, but Bo doesn't care what anyone thinks.
Agnes Atwood has never gone on a date, never even stayed out past ten, and never broken any of her parents' overbearing rules. Rules that are meant to protect their legally blind daughter -- protect her from what, Agnes isn't quite sure.
Despite everything, Bo and Agnes become best friends. And it's the sort of friendship that runs truer and deeper than anything else.
So when Bo shows up in the middle of the night, with police sirens wailing in the distance, desperate to get out of town, Agnes doesn't hesitate to take off with her. But running away and not getting caught will require stealing a car, tracking down Bo's dad, staying ahead of the authorities, and -- worst of all -- confronting some ugly secrets.

Release date: June 28, 2016


            How can I not purchase Kody Keplinger’s new novel when The DUFF is in the top 5 of my all-time favorite books and Wesley Rush is literally my lover? This book sounds so incredible and thrilling, and I’m kind of hoping for a little LGBTQIA+ to be included because I know if anyone could be true to a strong female relationship it would be the powerhouse that is Kody Keplinger. Super excited for this one!


5. A Season for Fireflies

By Rebecca Maizel




Back of the book blurb:


A story of second chances from the author of Between Us and the Moon, which Kirkus Reviews called “what first love is meant to be.”
A year ago, Penny Berne was the star of her high school’s theater department, surrounded by a group of misfit friends and falling in love for the first time. Now her old friends won’t talk to her, her new best friend is the most popular girl in school, and her first love, Wes, ignores her. Penny is revered and hated. Then, in a flash, a near-fatal lightning strike leaves Penny with no memory of the past year—or how she went from drama nerd to queen bee.
As a record number of fireflies light up her town and her life, Penny realizes she may be able to make things right again—and that even if she can’t change the past, she can learn to see the magic where she never could before.
This captivating new novel about first love, second chances, and the power of memory is perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall and Katie Cotugno’s How to Love

Release Date: June 28, 2016


            I gushed about Between Us and the Moon so I am actually internally and externally screaming that we get another book by Rebecca Maizel so soon! Also, that cover. I seriously need to hit up whoever makes these covers because I want my book to look as pretty. I guess I should first actually write a book before thinking about covers, but semantics, am I right? Either way, I love how summer-y and fun and beautiful Rebecca’s novels are and I know I’m going to fall in love with A Season for Fireflies as much as I fell in love with Between Us and the Moon.


I really hope I’ve gotten y’all excited for some of the AMAZING books that are coming out in the next few weeks! I know I’m screaming.

Happy Reading!
Love,
The Cosmic Reader


You May Also Like

0 comments