REVIEW: A Season for Fireflies by Rebecca Maizel

by - 1:50 PM


“The truth is simple: I want to be out of the spotlight. For good.”

Back of the book blurb:


A year ago, Penny Berne was the star of her high school’s theater department, surrounded by a group of misfit friends and falling in love for the first time. Now her old friends won’t talk to her, her new best friend is the most popular girl in school, and her first love, Wes, ignores her. Penny is revered and hated. Then, in a flash, a near-fatal lightning strike leaves Penny with no memory of the past year—or how she went from drama nerd to queen bee.
As a record number of fireflies light up her town and her life, Penny realizes she may be able to make things right again—and that even if she can’t change the past, she can learn to see the magic where she never could before.
This captivating new novel about first love, second chances, and the power of memory is perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall and Katie Cotugno’s How to Love.


A message from the cosmos:



Publication Date: June 28, 2016
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pages: 256 pages
ISBN: 9780062327642

Available for Purchase:

My rating:



If I could give A Season for Fireflies more than five stars, trust me, I would. I mean… I can give it more than five stars… this is my fucking blog. So… I give this book ALL OF THE STARS AND ALL OF THE FIREFLIES. I knew I’d be in for a treat because Between Us and the Moon was incredible. I think I read it in six hours in one sitting last summer. Ugh, Rebecca Maizel, what are you doing to me?!

“They think I’m just loud, funny Penny, top ten in the class and the party girl at Kylie’s side who never takes anything too seriously.”

The first 38 pages of the novel consist of one version of Penny Berne, our lovely protagonist. A couple things happen and then the novel fast forwards from the end of Penny’s sophomore year in high school, to the beginning of Penny’s senior year of high school. And there is quite a difference in the two versions of Penny that Maizel presents us with. But of course, they’re still the same Penny, deep down.

            A record number of fireflies are showing up in Penny’s town and no one can figure out why there are thousands of fireflies showing up in September. That doesn’t stop Penny and her bestie Kylie from partying, though. But then, a freak lightning accident happens and the next thing Penny remembers is waking up in the hospital. And it’s as if the last year hasn’t happened. She doesn’t remember becoming friends with Kylie or exactly why she’s not friends with her old theatre posse. And thus begins the journey of Penny Berne figuring out exactly who she is.

            I honestly think I’m in love with Penny Berne. Even when she was the sidekick to Kylie, she still lit up every room she was in and she was the life of the party. She might’ve been closed off when it came to actually opening up to people, but it’s hard to be open to judgment. There is something so special about Penny and who she is, deep down inside, that will have you following her around with puppy eyes. Rebecca Maizel always writes such well-developed and lovable characters.

“Wes made me a planetarium?”

            I have to talk about Wes next. He didn’t say much throughout A Season for Fireflies, but I fell for him just as much as I fell for Andrew in Between Us and the Moon. Again, Maizel writes her characters so incredibly charming it’s hard to not fall for them, you know? The way that he never really stopped caring for Penny even when she went through her “lost year.” (Her words, not mine!!) He was just so cute and I love him. He’s mine!!!!!

            Also, he’s a great gift giver. That is honestly just beautiful.

“’You’re back, babe.’ She laughs. ‘My number one bitch.’”

            I really loved Kylie and Penny’s friendship. It was born out of a need for something new and maybe not the healthiest place in Penny’s heart, but it was still a genuine and true friendship. And I really enjoyed Penny’s friendships with all of her theater friends as well. I think it just attributes to Penny’s personality and how fun and caring and friendly she is!

“To be brought back together, to be reconciled, I had to lose myself in the shadows and find my way back out to the light.”

            A Season for Fireflies is truly a story about second chances. And I absolutely love Penny’s character arc and how much she changed from her sophomore year to her senior year. It’s a beautiful journey and I’m so glad Rebecca Maizel gave me the opportunity to take it with Penny!

            The only thing is I wish it were longer! I need more. But, that just makes me think that we don’t get many details of what really happened in Penny’s “lost year” so it’s like we have the same memory loss and it just fits so well. But, of course, with any good book I want so much more.

            Please, pick up this book!!! It’s incredible.

P.S. You have less than 31 hours to enter my giveaway to receive a SIGNED COPY of One Moment by Kristina McBride. The giveaway can be found here.

Happy Reading!
Love,
The Cosmic Reader


You May Also Like

0 comments