REVIEW: A Million Times Goodnight by Kristina McBride

by - 12:49 PM


"The world around me fractured into a million tiny pieces. And I turned right and left in the space of a single breath."

Back of the book blurb:

A teen Sliding Doors. One choice creates parallel dual narratives in this romantic contemporary mystery-thriller perfect for fans of Just Like Fate and Pivot Point.
One Night. Two Paths. Infinite Danger.
On the night of the big Spring Break party, Hadley "borrows" her boyfriend Ben's car without telling him. As payback, he posts a naked picture of her online for the entire senior class to see. 
Now Hadley has a choice: go back to the party and force Ben to delete the picture or raise the stakes and take his beloved car on a road trip as far away from their hometown of Oak Grove, Ohio, as she can get.
Chapters alternate to reveal each possible future as Hadley, her ex-boyfriend, Josh, and her best friends embark on a night of reckless adventure where old feelings are rekindled, friendships are tested, and secrets are uncovered that are so much worse than a scandalous photo.

A message from the cosmos:


Publication Date: July 5, 2016
Publisher: Sky Pony Press
Pages: 304
ISBN: 9781510704015

Available for Purchase:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository


My rating:



            First, I want to say congrats to Keri for winning a signed copy of One Moment by Kristina McBride! I e-mailed you so please respond so I can send you your prize!

            Second, I was provided an ARC of A Million Times Goodnight in exchange for an honest review. I had the privilege, like I’ve said before, of taking a writing class from Kristina McBride, and it was such an amazing experience. Let’s get this review started!

            A Million Times Goodnight starts with three best friends—Hadley, Brooklyn, and Mia—visiting a spot where their late best friend, Penny Rawlins, loved to go: The Witches’ Tower.

“’That’s exactly why we’re out here.’ Strands of hair whipped my face. ‘To remember her as she was.’ ‘Loud. Wild. And totally free.’”

            I’m kind of sad that Penny wasn’t alive during this novel because I definitely think she would’ve approved of all of the drama that was happening. She seemed like she would’ve lived for it.

            Anyway, what gets the ball rolling is that to get to The Witches’ Tower, Hadley, our protagonist, stole her boyfriend’s car. And because she stole her boyfriend’s car, he leaked nude pictures of her online. The thing is, she didn’t steal it out of malicious intent… she did it because she wanted to pay homage to her best friend on the anniversary of her death. And if your boyfriend doesn’t understand that, DUMP HIS ASS! Of course, things are never actually as they seem…

            I loved Hadley. Her character is so level-headed and badass. I mean, jeez, she stole her boyfriend’s car! I can only dream of doing something that inspiring. I absolutely loved her voice, and even when she was making reckless decisions, she normally did them to save other people before she would save herself. Her selflessness, but also her awareness that she deserved better than her scumbag boyfriend, was truly inspiring.

“I knew it was over then. Not just the discussion. Us. All the history had sizzled away any thread of hope that we might actually be finding our way back to each other.”

            Everyone knows I’m a sucker for romance, and trust me, I was a sucker for Hadley’s old friend and flame, Josh. He was the quiet, broody type and he just made me melt. Because even though things with him and Hadley were rocky before, he still cared about her. And those kinds of stories just… they wreck me.

“When he pulled back, he tipped his forehead against mine. Looked me right in the eyes. ‘A million times yes.’”

            But, in essence, that’s what A Million Times Goodnight is about. It’s a novel that proves to us that everything happens for a reason, no matter what choices you make—that some people are meant to be in our lives, some actions are meant to be taken, and that love will always find us. And that's exactly why this novel is so incredible. The plot is extremely uplifting and touches on so many important issues. 

Kristina McBride has crafted an excellent novel that will leave you breathless and utterly in love. Pick it up when it’s released on July 5!!!

Happy Reading!
Love,
The Cosmic Reader


You May Also Like

0 comments